UNESCO World Heritage – China

Along with Italy, China has the most locations listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites.  The most well-known of these sites are the Great Wall of China and Beijing’s Imperial Palace, but China’s entries on the list span from mountain peaks and valleys on to the numerous cultural places in the country’s bustling cities.  UIG’s archive features more than 2,000 images of China’s UNESCO entries, including the images featured here from UIG contributing partner Top Photo Group. 

Clockwise from main image: Leifeng pagoda; The Imperial Palace, Beijing; Shuangtou Bridge; Summer Palace, Beijing; Great Wall; Tiantan (Temple of Heaven).

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization UNESCO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations aimed at promoting world peace and security through international cooperation in education, the sciences, and culture.  UNESCO was formed in 1945 and established the first entries on its World Heritage Sites list in 1978.  A full list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites can be found at https://whc.unesco.org/en/list/

Featured title image: Huangshan mountains

All images: TPG

Source: UNESCO https://whc.unesco.org/en/about/ 

Leave a Reply